Enrollment for the 2020-21 Spelling Bee Season is Now Open!

Early enrollment period is May 1, 2020, through October 16, 2020. The per-school fee during our early bird enrollment period is $175.

Regular enrollment period is October 17, 2020, through December 20, 2020. The per-school fee during our Regular Enrollment Period is $250.

Rules for the Local Spelling Bees updated for the 2020-2021 school year.

In partnership with the Kane Excellence in Education Partnership, the ROE is proud to be the head facilitator for the Kane County Regional Spelling Bee!

In 2020, the County Spelling Bee was held at the Kane ROE on Tuesday, March 10th. Nine students competed to be crowned the champion of the Kane County Spelling Bee. Sponsored the Kane Excellence in Education Partnership, James Kennedy, winner of the regional bee, qualified for the National Spelling Bee in Washington D.C., but unfortunately the event was canceled due to COVID-19.

The nine students that competed were:

  • Sarah Beggs, Holy Angels School, Aurora
  • Katie Butterworth, Immanuel Lutheran School, East Dundee
  • Julianna Horsfall, St. Peter School, Geneva
  • Tejas Katira, Glenbrook Elementary, Streamwood
  • James Kennedy, St. Patrick School, St. Charles
  • Mia Kensek, Holy Cross Catholic, Batavia
  • Carter Nguyen, Hoover Wood Elementary, Batavia
  • Claire O’Brien-Dull, Einstein Academy, Elgin
  • Amaan Siddiqui, Hilltop Elementary, Elgin