About Kane County Regional Office of Education (Kane ROE) 

Kane County Regional Office of Education (Kane ROE), incorporated in 1829, is located in Geneva, IL and serves the residents of Kane County, IL. and assists with nine school districts (U-46, Batavia 101, West Aurora 129, East Aurora 131, District 300, Central 301, Kaneland 302, St. Charles 303, and Geneva 304).

Kane ROE serves over 1,686 educators and covers 524 square miles. Kane ROE acts as an advocate for education by providing leadership, coordinating, and delivering, state and local services, such as administer High School Equivalency Exams, provide school and home visits, license new educators, train bus drivers and fingerprint educational staff.

Kane ROE recently has been recognized by the Illinois Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association (INSPRA) for their efforts providing excellent communications and services during the pandemic.


Historical Timeline: 

1829The sixth General Assembly mandated appointment of a Commissioner of School Lands.
1841Title changed to County Commissioner and Ex-Officio County Superintendent of Schools.
1865Legislature called for the election of the County Superintendent of Schools.
1973Consolidation of smaller counties resulted in 78 regions.
1975Title of Chief Administrative Officer of an education service region changed to Regional Superintendent of Schools.
1977Further consolidation resulted in 57 regions in Illinois.
1993Educational Service Region Office renamed Regional Office of Education.
1995Further consolidation resulted in 45 regions, each with a population of at least 45,000 inhabitants.
2015Further consolidation will result in 35 regions in Illinois each with a population of at least 61,000 inhabitants.