The Kane County Juvenile Justice Center Education Program is designed to guarantee students in juvenile detention continue to be educated and make a successful transition back to their public school program. This effort is possible through the dedication of staff members that work with these students on a daily basis.

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) has recognized this commitment and honored these staff members through its Those Who Excel Awards. Each year, ISBE honors a variety of educational staff, community members, and volunteers who have made outstanding contributions to elementary and secondary education. Instructors from the Juvenile Justice Center have received the Award of Meritorious Service for making a positive impact on those they serve. 

We congratulate Ivars Spalis (Principal), Sharon Arient (Science Instructor), Steve Siar (Math Instructor, Precious Wade (Social Studies Instructor), and Shana Wang (English Instructor) for being highlighted for their contributions to students in Kane County. 

“The work being done through this program is essential to prevent learning gaps for the students that are housed at the Juvenile Justice Center,” said Patricia Dal Santo, Regional Superintendent at the Kane County Regional Office of Education. “We have these educators to thank for the program’s effectiveness, and we are pleased to see their valuable efforts be highlighted.”

The education program is made possible through a partnership between the Kane County Regional Office of Education, which runs the program, St. Charles School District 303, and the Chief Judge of the 16th Judicial Circuit. These licensed teachers give daily instruction year-round in language arts, math, science, social studies and cognitive behavioral therapy.

Spalis, Arient, Siar, Wade, and Wang will be recognized at the 50th annual Those Who Excel Banquet in Normal, Ill. on May 18, 2024.