The Kane County Regional Office of Education is proud to announce that Dr. Charles Hiscock, principal at West Aurora High School, District 129, has been named the 2023 Educator of the Year.

The Kane County Regional Office of Education established the Educator of the Year award to honor outstanding educators in the county who have demonstrated exceptional dedication to their students and their profession.

Dr. Hiscock has been an educator for over 33 years, and during that time he has made a significant impact on the lives of his students and his team members. He has a passion for education and his enthusiasm is infectious, which has helped to inspire a love of learning in his students.

“Dr. Hiscock is a truly exceptional educator who has made a profound impact on the lives of his students,” said Patricia Dal Santo, Kane County Regional Superintendent. “His leadership, passion for education, and dedication to West Aurora High School is an inspiration to all of us in the education community.”

Listed below are the education professionals who won their respective categories at Educator of the Year:

  • Regional Superintendent Award: Neil Currie, St. Charles East High School, District 303
  • Educational Service Personnel Award: Adam Bryl, South Elgin High School, District U-46
  • Student Support Personnel Award: Faye Licari, Kaneland School District 302
  • Private/Parochial Teacher Award: Sharon Elgar, Aurora Central Catholic High School
  • Early Career Educator Award: Michael Smith, Davis Primary School, District 303
  • Elementary/Early Childhood Teacher: Dr. Ann Butcher, Fearn Elementary, District 129
  • Middle School Teacher: Kiel Douglass, Waldo Middle School, District 131
  • High School Teacher: Emma Cole, Geneva High School, District 304
  • School Administrator: Dr. Susan L. Harkin, School District 300

Dr. Hiscock and all category winners were recognized at the Kane County Regional Office of Education’s annual awards ceremony held on May 5, 2023, at the Q Center in St. Charles, IL.

For more information about the Kane County Regional Office of Education and the Educator of the Year award, visit